FOTD – Dewytastic Skin!

No better way to start than to just throw something out there right? Here is today’s Face of the Day (FOTD) using a few old staples, a few products I’ve been loving lately and one that is completely new!

I started off with “that gal” primer by Benefit (be warned, I freaking love Benefit), which gives the skin a gorgeous pinky sheen and really makes you glow. Over that I put a brand new product, Rimmel’s 9 in 1ย Matte BB Cream.

I was really impressed with this BB cream! I bought the shade Medium/Dark – I’m an NC35 in MAC, not usually dark but the Medium looked waaaay too light when I swatched it in store – and the colour was gorgeous. I applied it with an XO Beauty flat top kabuki brush and it gave a beautiful finish with great coverage, I give it a massive thumbs up.

There was only one thing I would say about it – it’s not matte at all! I don’t know if it was the “that gal” primer but the BB cream seemed to highlight all of the bumps and lumps on my skin when it hit the light, so next time I would probably set it with a translucent powder to tone down the shine.

photo 1

Next up – in keeping with the liquids before powders theme – was Benefit’s Posie Tint. I’m a huge fan of Benefit’s tint family, I think they are incredibly long lasting and give you a beautiful pop of colour. I used this on my cheeks and on my lips, I just use the applicator brush to draw a Nike style tick starting at the apples of my cheeks up along my cheekbone. Just make sure you work fast with these tints, they set pretty quickly and no one wants to go out for the day with a Nike tick on their face!

For concealer I used MAC ProLongwear in NW25 under my eyes and for a little highlighting along my T-zone, then made sure to blend blend blend! After that I carved out my cheekbones with some Hoola (the best bronzer ever, cool-toned and perfect for contouring) in the hollow between my mouth and my ear, and some Smashbox blush in Bare over the Posie Tint. I love this Smashbox blush, it’s a beautiful dusty desert rose pink, perfect for bronze looks or summertime. To add a little more shimmer in the right places I used Stila’s Kitten highlight along my cheekbones, brow bones, in the inner corners of my eyes and also on my cupid’s bow. Dewytastic!

I filled in my brows with Rimmel’s Brow Pencil in Hazel and set them in place with yet another Benefit product, Gimme Brow in Medium/Deep. I love Gimme Brow, if I’m in a hurry I’ll usually just use that on its own. For my eyes I tried something a little different today, a gorgeous cream shadow by Benefit (sippin’ n dippin’, pictured on the bottom left) which is a peachy shade with a champagne shimmer to it. I applied this with my fingers just across the eyelid, then took some more Hoola on a big fat blending brush and ran it through the crease to deepen the look up. Then I used a matte brown shadow from The Body Shop (number 05, great name huh, pictured bottom right) in the outer V to add a little more dimension. Then lashings of Jordana Best Lash Extreme mascara, and the eyes are done! This look was really simple and quick to do, and it worked really well with my green eyes. I think I’ll be wearing it again!

For lippy I used one of my favourite shades, Revlon Super Lustrous in 674 Coralberry. This lipstick is gorgeous! A shimmering coral, it makes everyone who wears it look fantastic, and it really works with my olive skintone. You could put it on a bulldog and he’d be red-carpet ready. This look is great for you ladies enjoying summer in the Northern Hemisphere, here in New Zealand it’s freaking freezing but that doesn’t stop me playing with coral lipstick! I’ve put a couple of snaps of the finished product below, go easy on me – selfies really aren’t my thing!

What do you think? Do you prefer dewy or matte skin?

Holly

xx

 

Dewytastic! Trout pout!Oh hey there!

5 thoughts on “FOTD – Dewytastic Skin!

Leave a Reply

